Skip to main content
Background Image URL //

Clan Scott Society awards scholarships and financial grants to deserving students engaged in the study of the history, culture, literature, music, and fine arts of Scotland.

Clan Scott Society is a heritage organization and one of our primary aims is to provide scholarships to deserving individuals. Please see the description of each scholarship for applicant criteria. Scholarships are approved and awarded by the Board of Directors of the Clan Scott Society.

The application window for 2024 Scholarships will be opened on January 1, 2024 and the deadline is March 31, 2024. Award recipients will be notified in May 2024. Please click on the link to apply for a Clan Scott Scholarship.


Sir Walter Scott Scholarship Winner
Hannah Brugger
Premier Dancer from Texas

Harry J. Bowman Scholarship Winner
Brynn Brown
Premier Dancer from South Carolina
Duke of Buccleuch Scholarship Winner
Jane Hollewell
Premier Dancer from Utah
Jay Sparks Memorial Scholarship Winner
Beyla Ridky
Harpist from Connecticut
Hannah Brugger
Brynn Brown
Jane Hollowell
Beyla Ridky

Honoring the Chief of Clan Scott, the Duke of Buccleuch scholarship is awarded 
to a deserving student of performing arts
including fiddle, harp, bagpiping, Highland Dancing or any other Scottish performing arts.

Sir Walter Scott Scholarship

Each year, Clan Scott awards the Sir Walter Scott educational grant to a student that exemplifies outstanding dedication to literature or performing arts.

Jay Sparks Memorial Scholarship

Jay Sparks was a Member-At-Large for the Clan Scott Society at the time of his untimely passing.

This award was created in his memory, as a way of honoring his contributions to the society.

Harry Bowman Scholarship

This award was created in memory of Harry J. Bowman, former clan bagpiper and Chieftain of Clan Scott.
This scholarship is open to those individuals seeking financial support for their pursuit and study of highland dancing or piping education.

Clark R. Scott Memorial Scholarship

This award was created in memory of Clark Scott, former Chieftain of Clan Scott. This scholarship is open to college students majoring in
history, government, political science, or economics at a U.S. University.

Order of the Stag

The Order of the Stag is awarded annually to individuals who have made great contributions to the mission of the Clan Scott Society.

Past recipients include:

2006 Kelly Davis

2007 Ron Reeps

2008 Mark Young

2009 David Scott

2010 Charles Sherwood

2011 Harry Bowman

2012 Charlie & Jacque Scott

2013 Clark & Judith Scott

2014 Sue Anne Scott Ramsey

2015 Carolyn McCracken-Flesher

2016 Christine Argyle

2017 Kevin Scott

2018 Bryon Scott

2019 David Scott
2021 Ian Scott
2023 Forrest Shields